Mother and Infant Home Visiting Program

Evaluation (MIHOPE)

Informing the Future of Home Visiting



Back to MIHOPE Update

The federal Maternal, Infant, and Early Childhood Home Visiting (MIECHV) program funds a variety of evidence-based home visiting services across the states. Under MIECHV, each state has the discretion to select one or more of 13 evidence-based home visiting models. MIHOPE is an evaluation of the federal MIECHV program, focusing specifically on four of the evidence-based models. These models are included in the evaluation because they are operating in at least 10 MIECHV-funded states. The programs include:  

1.       Early Head Start (EHS)

2.       Healthy Families America (HFA)

3.       Nurse-Family Partnership (NFP)

4.       Parents as Teachers (PAT)

The map below highlights the four MIHOPE model types operating in each continental MIECHV state: 10 states are operating one model; 17 states are operating two models; 14 states are operating three models; and four states offer all four models. Three states are not currently operating MIECHV programs, although local non-profit organizations may provide MIECHV-funded home visiting services in those states in the future. Place your mouse over each state to learn which models are offered in each state.

Alaska and the District of Columbia are each offering one model (NFP and PAT, respectively) and Hawaii is operating two models (EHS and HFA). Although U.S. territories may also receive MIECHV funds, they are neither part of the map, nor part of MIHOPE.


EHS: Early Head Start; HFA: Healthy Families America; NFP: Nurse-Family Partnership; PAT: Parents as Teachers


Note that some states are still in the process of formulating their MIECHV programs.  Data for the following states is current as of April 30, 2012:  AL, AR, CO, CT, DE, FL, ID, IN, IA, KY, LA, ME, MD, MN, MS, MO, MT, NE, NH, NM, NY, NC, OH, OK, RI, SD, TN, UT, VT, VA, and WV; Data for the following states is current as of June 26, 2012: AZ, MA, and TX; Data for the following states is current as of October 26, 2012: CA, GA, KS, IL, MI, NV, NJ, OR, PA, SC, WA, and WI.